Welcome to our Winter Wonderland!

Every year my husband turns our backyard into a Winter Wonderland. A place where people get lost in the beauty of winter. A little winter paradise. At least that’s how it feels for me πŸ™‚ Allow me to take you on a little tour…

Our home is surrounded by trees. Our backyard is a miniature forest. The ground slopes from one side to the other. This makes a near perfect sliding hill. Because of it’s length, it’s a great ride – not too short, not too long. The trail on one side was made to wind a bit so the walk up is perfect. Walking up a steep hill is a chore. This walk feels more like a stroll. At night, the length of the hill is lit up with Christmas lights. It’s enchanting….there’s no other word. At the top of the hill, there are benches surrounding a fire pit. When you sit on the benches, you feel the warmth of fire, bask in the beauty of the snow, and all you can hear is children laughing and shouting as they slide. All you can hear is the sound of kids being kids.

A short stroll from the bottom of the hill is where you would find my husbands work shed. Inside the shed is a wood stove that is always just a little too warm and at the same time just right on a cold winter’s night. Hot chocolate, warm pot luck meals, cookies, and sweets are often found there too. Let us not forget the music!

This is the place we like to spend our winter evenings. This is the place where memories are created. It is the place where I feel most at home because there is no “real world” out there. It is a place that is so easy to lose myself in. Everyone loses their sense of time. Everyone is a kid on the hill.

There is no where else in the world I’d rather be than right there, with my friends, my family, all the children, and our dog, River.

I don’t know that my husband knows exactly what it is he creates or how much it really means to me. I know he knows it makes me happy πŸ™‚

Here’s to another season of memories πŸ™‚ May your winter be filled with love, laughter, good friends and good times πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks Sage πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you were able to enjoy it too!

  2. Anonymous

     /  December 30, 2013

    Sandy I Love it i can’t believe Curtis did that for your family ~ Sage ~

  3. Anonymous

     /  December 28, 2013

    I am thankful to be able to enjoy this wonderland with everyone! It is truly amazing!! Thank you Curtis we appreciate all the work! Well said Sandy

  4. Sarah

     /  December 28, 2013

    Wonderland indeed. Sounds magnificent and so much fun!

Leave a Reply

Pamela Tourigny

Veganizer, Advocate, Mentor & Coach

beanvegan.wordpress.com/

Living Green. Bean Vegan.

THECOLORMAGE

Pittsburgh LGBTQ Gay Author Speaker | Color Therapy Chakra Young Living Essential Oils Aromatherapy Zodiac Horoscope Tarot

The Juicing Nomads

β€œTo live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

