How Our House Became Our Home

home sweet homeHome renovations are the leading cause of divorce in the world. Okay, I don’t actually know this, after the week I’ve had I’m just guessing…although I’d be very interested to see the statistics.

For 14 years we have lived in the same house. It was a repo and in desperate need of some loving attention. However with our impending marriage, new home costs, and other financial commitments at the time, the TLC our home needed was just too much to bear. Over the years, we dabbled in decor only to find out that there is one thing my husband and I agree on and that’s that we can’t agree on anything house related. We have completely different tastes and neither one of us have a clue when it comes to decorating a home. Seriously, I can’t stress this enough. We once hired someone to help us figure it out, at least to take us through some options and mediate for us until we could come to some kind of compromise. I loved what she did but I knew we needed more. Our budget just wouldn’t allow it. My husband’s reaction was different, “We paid how much for toilet paper curtains??” and made reference to the off-white looped carpet being a bad idea with pets and children (right he was) And so, we did all we could do…we ignored it until we forgot about the excruciating pain of paint, renos, purchases, and decorating.Β  It took years before we decided to give it another go.

This time, we decided that we would try something new. Curtis put me in charge of all things paint; choosing the colors, taping, mudding and sanding the walls, and painting. I put Curtis in charge of flooring. We both checked in with each other regularly. The flooring went well, we went to see our options with the type we had in mind and ended up talking to a wealth-of-information sales guy and got something totally different that we felt would work in our home and we both loved it! I suggested we paint before laying the floor but Curtis adamantly insisted on laying the floor first. (Can you hear that?? It’s trouble brewing…!)

Curtis laid the floor. He did a fantastic job and great news…it looked awesome! We both loved it! I was still obsessing about struggling with paint color choices. Do I go with neutrals, do I go timeless,Β  vibrant, bold, what? It had to be something we could both live with. I looked through pictures and asked questions, I even started a heated discussion on a home decor and design site! I wanted to paint the ugly honey oak cupboards, Curtis was dead set against it! The compromise was I needed to find a way to tone down the bright, glossy, ugliness of them. Who knew what I had unleashed when I asked what paint color would do the job I needed it to do? The responses were passionate; “It doesn’t matter what color you put with those cupboards, any color will make them uglier”, “he should buy you new appliances for having to put up with those cupboards”, … even my husband got in on the action “I am confident we can make our kitchen look nice working with what we have” lol it was too much fun!

AHHH! The paint colors…you know I don’t like to commit. Commitment is just too final. I like change, I change my mind as my mood changes. I came across a picture of my ideal room, if I had my own place, this is what it would look like:

I showed it to Curtis, and guess what?! Once he got over the inital shock of it, he admitted he liked it. (!!!) There’s my green light! After asking for his feedback on the 50th paint swatch, he repeated for the 50th time, “I don’t want anything to do with the paint! Whatever you want is fine!” I’m thinking ok πŸ˜€ I wanted to give our home some personality…and personality I found! I excitedly shared my color choices with my husband. His reaction?

shock!

I started with Salsa Dancing in the living room…LOVED IT!! Warm, cozy, deep, rich, wonderful color! I love painting, I love the unveiling of color, I love to watch the transformation before my eyes, I genuinely enjoy painting, it’s a happy place for me. Curtis hates all things paint…especially watching me paint, but he can’t help himself. He stared at me, and nit-picked until I kindly turned to him and said “Don’t you have anything else to do?” By the time we got to the Yellow for the hallway, I was psyched! Until I saw the yellow on the wall. I felt myself starting to doubt, but trusted the wonderful lady at the paint store….surely, it would all work out in the end. It wasn’t a bad color at night…Once I hit the kitchen and tore into the green paint….Ah! O-M-G! What have I done! I’ve painted my house orange, yellow and green! I do believe my colors of choice may have been questionable!!

Right then, as my husband watched me with his-hate-for-painting eyes, and his constant reminders of “watch the paint”, “watch the floor with the paint” and my “I got this! Ok?” I gracefully tripped over a cord from the fridge he had moved, my foot landed directly in my tray of wet paint, I quickly pulled my paint soaked foot out of the tray and braced it securely on his newly laid grooved floor. (There’s the trouble I was telling you about!)Β  His reminders went silent, his eyes went crazed, and I got worried. He remained silent. Hot Tip: Laughing out loud at this point, NOT a good idea.

Once I got the floor cleaned, I called on reinforcements in sheer panic over the paint colors! They loved it. (Well, I think my brother had his doubts, he just laughed saying my home definitely radiates personality!) Maybe it was me…maybe the idea of commitment was just too much. I don’t know, but I stuck with it and you know what? Once I got the drop sheets moved, the curtains hung, and the hits of personality on the walls…I loved it too!

After 14 years, our house has finally begun to feel like a home. A home we created together. A home that showcases our personalities, ugly wood cupboards and vibrance on the walls.

If you liked this post you may also like: The Truth About My Marriage,Β  Not-So-Solo Trip to Toronto, On The Verge Of Crazy or Helplessly Charismatic

Thank you for being a part of the life I call my own personal chaos πŸ™‚ Embrace your awesomeness πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. The house looks beautiful! You did an awesome job.

  2. Jenny

     /  January 28, 2013

    Love it….can’t wait to see it again…foot in the paint thing…too funny!

  3. Great blog and a fun read which I enjoyed! ❀

  4. Anonymous

     /  January 27, 2013

    Great post, Sandy! Fun to read πŸ™‚ thank you for sharing ! Can’t wait to see it!

  1. The Idealist and The Realist « Sandy Bucholtz

Leave a Reply

Pamela Tourigny

Veganizer, Advocate, Mentor & Coach

beanvegan.wordpress.com/

Living Green. Bean Vegan.

THECOLORMAGE

Pittsburgh LGBTQ Gay Author Speaker | Color Therapy Chakra Young Living Essential Oils Aromatherapy Zodiac Horoscope Tarot

The Juicing Nomads

β€œTo live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

