Mommy’s Escape….The End of a Beautiful Affair

I am not into vampires, werewolves, or love triangles. In fact, I’m not even a big fan of reading fiction, I tend to prefer non-fiction life-changing books and I occasionally dabble in humor . My favorite movies are inspirational flicks based on true stories and I have a weakness for documentaries. At least that’s who I was before being introduced to Twilight.

Twilight quickly became my guilty pleasure. I had never fully understood the meaning of “getting lost in a book” until this one. I was spellbound. Stephanie Meyer’s world became my unexpected escape. It wasn’t about monsters killing humans or a series of ugly evil doings. The characters came to life and made their way into my heart through their ability to love so deeply. The vampires, the werewolves, nothing was more important than the safety and well being of their families and the community in which they resided. Their heightened senses were intriguing. Through their eyes, ears, nose, and touch I heard, saw, smelled, and felt nature and everything in it in a way that I am usually too busy to pay attention to. The story brought to life the heart-thumping, weak-in-the-knees recollection of falling in love for the first time. Do you ever remember anything more exciting than that feeling?? Young love is one of life’s most exciting experiences.Through this story, Stephanie invites her audience to relive that beautiful experience. She then made the romance forbidden, threw in some danger, threat, and suspense and WHAM! It was a don’t-breathe-until-it’s-over love story!

Edward’s forever calm, protective nature felt safe and strangely exciting, his smile…irresistible! Jacob’s abs,casual, blunt honesty was crazy sexy intoxicating. I could totally relate to Bella’s insecurities, consistent bad decision making, and lack of coordination (however, she didn’t win me over until she became her confident vampire self). Bella’s dad Charlie, OMG! Who wouldn’t love him?! Jasper was my personal favorite…I found his intensity captivating. And Alice! With her graceful moments, her impeccable timing, her immaculate sense of style and calm, friendly demeanor…it’s like we were the same person (tsk, tsk) πŸ˜‰ I loved Alice!Β  Carlisle’s take charge, humble, leadership nature was HOT so appealing. Add to that their animalistic instincts, and …. BAM! Guilty pleasure! I loved them all!

Breaking Dawn 2 was bitter sweet. I didn’t want the story to end. The end of the book series was heartbreaking. The end of the movies seemed so….final. I have to admit, every time I heard about a ‘surprise twist’, my heart leaped…In my mind, the best ending and the most glorious surprise ending would include the words “to be continued”. Dare I hope to see those words light up the screen??

I accepted the fact that I was a wholehearted Twilight fan, but I hadn’t realized the depth of it until the exact moment I saw Carlisle’s head. In that very moment, I felt my heart crack. I was so angry. Angry and devastated. They had ruined the story and I wanted to hold someone accountable! I probably would have screamed had it not been for the massive lump stuck inside my throat. And then Jasper….I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. What were people thinking when they raved “this is the best movie of all!” Were they mad?! You know the ugly cry? The one that hurts your throat, your head, and neck and turns your face into an unrecognizable mess? I’m embarrassed to admit, that’s the cry that came out of me. And it continued until it was replaced by tears of relief and immense gratitude.

At the end of the movie, a slideshow tribute played briefly bringing to life Twilight moments and treasured memories. I sat in my seat, unable to move, tears flowing freely while people (including small children) pointed and laughed. For a moment I wondered what was wrong with these people? Why weren’t they taking this seriously? I scolded myself “What is wrong with you woman?! Pull yourself together!” I couldn’t help it…I was filled with the oddest sensation…Twilight was breaking up with me!

As I sat there with my raccoon eyes, sore neck, and a broken heart I wondered….Was the vampire movie really worth all this?? You bet your ass it was!!!!

Thank you Stephanie Meyer for taking us on a whirlwind adventure through your imagination, your words, and your spirit! I fully embrace your awesomeness!!!

Tell me…was it the same for you??

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. a sexy, beautiful adventure it was! πŸ™‚ I was captivated!

  2. jenny

     /  November 21, 2012

    I loved it. Although I did not read the books…so my relationship with Twilight was not as intense as yours. (Obviously lol) I held my breath for a long time….could noy believe what was happening!! I loved the happy ending with all the I’s dotted and t’s crossed, no wondering anymore…as I have done one movie after another until now. I feel diferently…satisfied and content.

  3. Another great blog, Sandy Star! I love how you describe your emotions so vividly! I felt like I was sitting right next to you enjoying this movie. Fabulous blog and what a great review for Twilight movie fans πŸ™‚ Love ya! Keep writing! Please! Xo

  1. I Tortured My Kid With Song! Creative Parenting « Sandy Bucholtz

Leave a Reply

Pamela Tourigny

Veganizer, Advocate, Mentor & Coach

beanvegan.wordpress.com/

Living Green. Bean Vegan.

THECOLORMAGE

Pittsburgh LGBTQ Gay Author Speaker | Color Therapy Chakra Young Living Essential Oils Aromatherapy Zodiac Horoscope Tarot

The Juicing Nomads

β€œTo live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

