The Truth about My Marriage

My husband drives me nuts, and I drive him equally mad. All too often I’ve wondered how it is that we ended up married at all. From what I can gather, our marriage was based on a total misunderstanding. He was under the impression that because I was employed by the government working at a financial institution, I was a secure and stable girl and as an added bonus, I was a financial expert. Boy, was he in for a shocker!

At the time, my husband was doing work he loved as a Sheet Metal Worker. He was a caring father to his son and we always had a blast. We would take off on vacation at the blink of an eye, never making reservations, sometimes not even really being sure about where we would end up. In my eyes, I saw my husband as a carefree risk-taker, someone who took life as it came and had fun with it. Oh, if only I knew!

In our first year of marriage, we were blessed with a baby girl. My husband became the stable and secure provider. I, on the other hand, looked into my baby girls eyes and saw life through a fresh new lens. I vowed to teach my daughter to choose happiness throughout her whole life, and how could I do that without leading by example? I became the carefree risk-taker focused primarily on joy and being the best mother I could be.

My husbands career was stable and secure while mine was virtually non-existent as I bounced from one interest to the next never taking into consideration my husbands dream of a stable and secure life. I had quit myΒ  job to open a home daycare. I took a dozen different courses and trained with best selling authors and spiritual leaders in my quest to find a source of income that would allow me to be the best me I could be while providing me with time for our children. The journey I took in finding myself was anything BUT stable and secure. The more I spread my wings, the more stable my husband became. I took his secure world and turned it completely upside down. As he worked to build stability, I fought to live a bubble of possibility, a beautiful bubble, but a bubble no less.
Every time I lost my keys, he sighed. Every time he talked bills, I rolled my eyes. When I talked memories, he spoke of the future. He sung “tried and true” and I shouted “been there done that”. Home renovations never came to be because we couldn’t agree on anything. I’m not going to lie, some days it was a virtual shit storm! We were throwing each other far outside our comfort zones. I misunderstood his discomfort and unease with my freestyle approach to life as a disappointment in who I was.

Things are rarely as they seem

Thankfully, becoming a published author has allowed me to find a happy medium and prove that I could achieve more than even I thought was possible. I still live in my beautiful bubble, I’ve learned to invite my husband in as well. He seems to like the bubble for the most part, he shares in my dreams, and agrees that what he may have considered impossible at one time, might not be so impossible after all.

The truth is, life is always divinely organized. For who better to teach me to keep my feet on the ground than him? And who better to teach him the beauty of life unexpected and the possibility of achieving the impossible than me?

I owe the life I’ve had the privilege of living to my husband and his stability. Without him, I wouldn’t be me.

Today, I choose to fully embrace my husbands awesomeness and the gifts he has brought to my life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I dedicated this one to my husband…a long overdue dedication ❀ I'm so glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  2. What an absolutely beautiful tribute!

  3. Thank you all so very much for taking a moment to stop by for a read πŸ™‚ I so appreciate all of your comments and likes. Your support and encouragement make it easy for me to keep writing πŸ™‚ Embrace your awesomeness!!! xoxoxox

  4. Anonymous

     /  November 12, 2012

    Friendship… is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.
    Muhammad Ali…..
    You are a true friend and I so enjoyed your story….loved it as always

    xoxoxoxox

  5. Angie

     /  November 11, 2012

    This was yet another perfect story and believe me I know!! I think this one might be one of my favourites…so true to everyone’s life. Keep it up.

  6. Wow Great Sandy!! I love this, so real and inspiring πŸ™‚

  7. Anonymous

     /  November 11, 2012

    nice story girl
    jen ethier

  8. Debbie

     /  November 11, 2012

    Love it! You are such an inspiration! Thank you for sharing…love you! xoxo

  9. Anonymous

     /  November 11, 2012

    Love it Sandy! You are such an inspiration. Love you! xoxo

  10. Anonymous

     /  November 11, 2012

    Great work……

  11. Jenny

     /  November 11, 2012

    You are becoming so talented my friend. Your story which I have greatfully been there to share with you was so wonderfully written. It made me laugh and cry as I remember so many conversations, laughs and tears along the way. I am so incredibly proud of you. Keep writting my friend…cant wait to hear what is next!!!

  12. Another gem, Sandy!! Loved it πŸ™‚

  1. How Our House Became A Home « Sandy Bucholtz

Leave a Reply

Pamela Tourigny

Veganizer, Advocate, Mentor & Coach

beanvegan.wordpress.com/

Living Green. Bean Vegan.

THECOLORMAGE

Pittsburgh LGBTQ Gay Author Speaker | Color Therapy Chakra Young Living Essential Oils Aromatherapy Zodiac Horoscope Tarot

The Juicing Nomads

β€œTo live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

