Excitement At The Grocery Store

In response to a comment made on A Solo Adventure of a Geographically Challenged Mom I felt I should explain a little about the trip to the grocery store with my sister.

First, let me introduce you to my sister. My little Angie, who I refer to as Boojie – but that’s a whole other story) is 5 years younger than I. She is one of the most efficient and organized people I know. Boojie always has a schedule, a plan. She always knows what she’s doing next, and she prepares herself accordingly. Her home is immaculate, she’s an excellent cook, she’s wicked smart and always brings a smile to my face. She has an energetic, happy demeanor, and won’t hesitate to set people straight when she’s got something to say. She is a whole package of wonderful.

I, on the other hand am more of a free spirit. I tend to fly by the seat of my pants. If I have a plan at all, it’s normally a very loose plan with plenty of room for screw ups (did I say screw ups? I meant adventure). Sometimes I like to think that Boojie turned out the way she did by watching her big sister growing and thinking “OMG! I don’t want to be like that!” All I can say in  my defense is “You’re welcome Boojie!” 🙂

This story takes place at a stressful time in my life when I struggled with anxiety (long before my Journey through Miracles).

So my sister calls me up, “Want to come to Renfrew with me? The new grocery store there has great deals this week.” Haven’t had experienced  this new grocery store yet, and always up for a road trip with my sister I excitedly agree.

She comes to pick me up (because she refuses to let me drive her anywhere), her trunk is completely cleaned out, her bags are neatly folded and packed together, and her grocery list is sitting neatly folded beside her with a pen. I get in her car with a grocery bag stuffed with other bags, and a notepad with a stack of recipe books (always better to make a list – I will make mine on the way). Boojie turns to me with her usual greeting: “Got your purse?” I respond with my traditional “Oh, Dang!”

Once I have my purse, my bankcard, and my money, we head to Renfrew. Before we hit the end of my street, we’re sharing stories, enjoying our time and the gift of each other. As we near Renfrew, we’re laughing to point where there are tears in our eyes and we’re both hoping our bladders don’t fail us before we get to the store.

When we arrive, I’m instantly glad I came. The store is clean, the isles are wide, things are easy to spot, and the prices are great. Boojie knows exactly where she’s going, so I’m happy following her lead.

By the time we get to the cash, our cart is full. the cash lines are busy, there are people everywhere and I’m still in awe at how smoothly the whole place runs. As we near the cash, Boojie puts her serious get-down-to-business face on – which always makes me nervous- and she asks “Do you want to bag or unload?” Bag? We have to bag ourselves? Normally this wouldn’t fizz me at all, but I’ve noticed how busy the store is and how quickly people are moving through, I also know how particular my sister is with her groceries. I look back at our cartful and although we’ve separated the groceries; hers and mine, I’m not entirely sure anymore exactly whose is whose. “I’ll bag” I say.

The cashier starts scanning, Boojie is unloading like with like allowing me to pack accordingly. the groceries start coming at me faster, more people are in the line, carts are moving all around me, people are looking for boxes, the belt is getting full. My breathing starts to get shallow, I was starting to sweat, my anxiety was going through the roof. Why would they make you bag your own groceries when it’s so extremely busy?  I looked at the people, looked at all the groceries, and did my best not to make eye contact with my sister as I opened up a bag, stretched out my arm, and quickly and gracefully swept as many groceries as I could into my open bag all at once. I could feel Boojie’s eyes on me as I went for the next bag. Her eyes were huge and she was NOT happy. “Stop it! We’re switching places Sandy!” I could see the anger rising in her as she thoroughly re-arranged the mess I had made of that last grocery bag. In that moment, I knew she was going to let me have it, and walking out of the store she did! “Who does that Sandy?” and something about the importance of grocery bagging and such….

She was so appalled, she wouldn’t let me unload the groceries into the truck. I sat in the car and wondered why on earth such an efficient store would want the end the customers experience in kaos? I could still hear Boojie mumbling words obviously meant for me as she packed her trunk.

Once again I found myself admiring her highly organized habits that make her life so much more efficient than mine and I thought to myself “Your welcome Boojie” 🙂

The moral of the story is this: Although we are all different, if we stay open, we may just realize that we all bring out the best in each other….and I love my sister ❤

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Carolle Schroeder

     /  October 21, 2012

    When the dogs woke me up, before 6, this morning, I thought this would be a good time read your blog. Thank you for making me laugh. It always surprises me that the two of you are so different, yet so close. And you are right Boojie, it is always an adventure to spend a day with Sandy. Love you both…from your MOM xxoo.

  2. Angie aka boojie

     /  October 20, 2012

    So YES, this did actually happen and we still go shopping together and have a great time!! I always know there is an adventure when my sister is around and I do have to prepare myself ahead because it’s not always easy for me to change my”schedule”!! Lol Sandy you are truly an awesome and amazing sister and I truly love you from the bottom of my heart but I do love my organized life!! So thank you for that!!

  3. Another great blog, Sandy! You are a wonderful writer 🙂 keep up the great work! We love sharing in your thoughts!! Xo

  4. Kerri Wilson

     /  October 20, 2012

    Sandy, I laughed out loud at your post. You are a great story teller! My mother always says that the world would be pretty boring if we were all the same. I agree with her and think it’s wonderful that you and your sister can celebrate your differences and bring out the best in each other. What a blessing to have such a beautiful relationship.

Leave a Reply

Pamela Tourigny Marcom

+ vegan & plant-based lifestyle advisor

beanvegan.wordpress.com/

Living Green. Bean Vegan.

Bernard Charles

@thecolormage - color stylist for your soul

The Juicing Nomads

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

