Weights or Wings?

Take Flight!
We all have a story, how we perceive our story is what makes us who we are. Whatever your story, your past, your misfortunes, your mistakes, they don’t define you. You decide for yourself whether you will focus on the positive aspects of your life, or blame the negative. What’s your story? Does it weigh you down or give you wings to fly?

My story is unique, just like yours. As a young teen, I was on my own before the age of sixteen and at nineteen I developed a neck problem no one could diagnose. I can easily wallow any given day of the week and sometimes I do. When I was a child, my dream was to one day become a good mother. As a mother of three happy children, I choose to focus on the gifts bestowed upon me. I have had my fair share of tough breaks and then some, however my story, my past, my misfortunes, and my mistakes have shaped me into the person I am proud to be today.

Armed with nothing more than my own perspective, I shed my weights and gave my story wings that allow me to fly.

Embrace Your Awesomeness ~ Misfortunes and all

It’s your turn! How do you choose to tell your story?

You may also like Step Into Your Power

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. I love checking your posts, Weights or Wings? sandybucholtz was added to my bookmarks in firefox.

  2. I’m honoured! Thank you 🙂

  3. I like looking at your blog posts, Weights or Wings? sandybucholtz was added to my favorites in chrome.

  4. Thanks Sherryl 🙂

  5. Congratulations on having three happy children Sandy. I’m sure your positive outlook on life has contributed to that. Thanks for sharing your story with us.

  6. Self-reflection….one of my most treasured time 🙂 All the best to you Adrienne 🙂

  7. I embrace your awesomeness Jenn! Thanks for sharing, it’s so true. I feel the same way 🙂

  8. Absolutely Coretta! We learn the most from our mistakes. Sadly, moving forward after making one is hard for many of us. The power of judgement is strong. The power of a change in perspective is highly underestimated 🙂

  9. A different perspective can made all the difference in the world 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to comment Susan, I appreciate your words 🙂

  10. Thanks for sharing your story Sandy. I think as life does throw you curve balls it is how you handle them that makes the difference as to how you progress and enjoy your life.

  11. Sandy,
    Thank you for sharing your story. I volunteer with the girls at the juvenile detention center here and I always make it a point to remind them that their time there doesn’t define them. It is necessary not only for their protection, but for the development of their character. I want them to know that how they come out of their situation will be a testimony for others.

  12. Sandy,

    I absolutely agree without all that I have been through I wouldn’t be me and I happen to like me, even when others may not be so fond of me. I try to stay true to myself even when it upsets others.

    Great job,
    Jenn

  13. I just choose to be honest with myself about my mistakes and to always try to figure myself (and life) out.

  14. Marcel Mousseau

     /  September 26, 2011

    Your journey has a purpose in life….Always beleive in yourself as I believe in you and trust that your journey will inspire and help others through their rough patches….Live life everyday like this is your last day on this earth…. You inspire me and I love you for this….Keep writting…..love ya doll face…..looking forward to many more inspiring story’s

  15. Kathy, I feel your pain and your words are absolutely true. The barriers we experience are simply part of our journey. My son is 10 years old, last year he was diagnosed with Juvenile Arthritis. Yes, some days are more difficult than others but sweet are the days when our optimism reigns! We still have wings to soar! Thank you so much for your words, they mean so much to me! I embrace your awesomeness 🙂

  16. Thank you for your comments and kind words! I really hope you guys realize that YOU are inspiring ME to keep the conversations going! I am fully embracing your awesomeness 🙂

  17. allyssa

     /  September 24, 2011

    AWSOME!IM GONNA GO AND EMBRACE MY AWSOMENESS NOW!

  18. Kathy

     /  September 24, 2011

    Sandy, I love your outlook!!! Like you, I have dealt with severe spinal issues for the past 20 years, and at times have felt my pain defined my entirety as a person. Mostly, through my own disappointment, I am not where I thought I would be in life. I love that you’ve rephrased how my past can be redefined. I really can be as simple as “Giving me Wings”, or continue to be a horrendous “Weight” in my life. From today forward I will remember to have gratitude for the “Journey” and envision the “Wings” my pain will give me into the future.

  19. Anonymous

     /  September 21, 2011

    WOW your words are inspiring Sandy!!!!

  20. Suzanne

     /  September 21, 2011

    Sandy,
    I am a survivor…Today, I am a confident, kind and empathetic woman, most days that is, and I attribute this to my past. I choose to wear wings and to soar. Thanks for your inspirational words

    Anonymous is me…

  21. Anonymous

     /  September 21, 2011

    Sandy,
    I am a survivor…Today, I am a confident, kind and empathetic woman, most days that is, and I attribute this to my past. I choose to wear wings and to soar. Thanks for your inspirational words.

  22. Brent

     /  September 21, 2011

    Sandy,

    You have an amazing way with words….. I love it…. weights or wings? It’s a much nicer way then saying “sink or swim”.

Leave a Reply

Pamela Tourigny Marcom

+ vegan & plant-based lifestyle advisor

beanvegan.wordpress.com/

Living Green. Bean Vegan.

Bernard Charles

@thecolormage - color stylist for your soul

The Juicing Nomads

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ― Oscar Wilde

